‘Hope’ is out now!!! ‘Hope’ est sorti!!!

the fantastic Laura B 'Hope' EP Cover art by Kathy Hinde
At last! After weeks and weeks in the making, ‘Hope’ the Green CD in the Colour Series is out! It’s been a bit of a roller coaster ride with me doing things the hard way (no change there lol!) First, liaising with the brilliant artist Kathy Hinde for the cover art which she did brilliantly as her own interpretation of the original concept designed by Marc Everett for the Orange EP, then liaising with Gerard from Inocto in France for the printing of the cover in Pantone GREEN (I watched Gerard mix the inks by hand to achieve the exact shade of green that I wanted which was an unforgettable experience) then onto getting all the other supplies in for the CD manufacture, duplicating the CDs, putting them all together, then onto designing the new website complete with online store, with Claire Bidwell at Opus Productions, building an artist page on Facebook, re-designing my MySpace page (beurk! what a horrid and clunky heavy site I’m not linking to it) and probably another 20 things and sites I forget right now, Hope sees the light of day. Phew! If I’d known it was so much work I would have probably tried and get a deal!

The title track features Matt Coldrick of Pan Electric playing his Martin acoustic guitar which is a bit of a departure for me as I tend to work on my own, it was great going to his studio on the coast and recording it with him and the track is all the more balearic for it. Another collaborator on ‘Hope’ was the mighty Burt Latino who lend me his ear while I was arranging it and helped me greatly shape it up into the song it is today. Music arranging is all about how the music and its parts interact in places as well as how the song develops over time, it’s all to do with the ‘journey’ of the listener and it is an art!

I have just been informed that ‘Hope’ is playlisted this week on the BBC Radio One DJ Chris Coco’s weekly show on Mixcloud!

Let’s hope for more to come!

 

Love xx Laura

 

 

Enfin ! Apres des semaines et des semaines de preparations, le CD Vert ‘Hope’ est sorti dans la Series des Couleurs! Ça a été une épopée puisque comme d’ab j’ai voulu tout faire au plus difficile lol! (la, pas de changement!). j’ai commencé par etre en liaison quotidienne avec l’artiste extraordinaire Kathy Hinde qui a fait la couverture du CD en interpretant le concept original que Marc Everett avait developpé pour le CD Orange! et je suis trop contente du resultat:), ensuite j’ai travaillé avec Gerard (de Salasc) a Inocto en France qui a imprimé la pochette en couleur Pantone (j’ai filmé Gerard mélanger les encres a la main pour atteindre le parfait degré de vert que je désirais, c’est une experience inoubliable) , puis j’ai passé commande de tous les autres ingredients pour la duplication du CD, dupliqué et assemblé tout ça, ensuite collaboré avec Claire Birwell a Opus Productions pour construire le nouveau site web qui a un magasin de musique, j’ai fait une nouvelle page d’artiste sur Facebook, j’ai re-organisé mon myspace (beark quelle horreur ce site est devenu nul et super trop lourd) et puis encore plein d’autres choses et sites auxquels je ne pense pas la tout de suite et voila! Si j’avais su ce que sortir un CD represente, je crois que j’aurais commencé par chercher un contrat avec une maison de disques!

Le titre principal a Matt Coldrick (du groupe Pan Electric) a la guitare acoustique. Travailler avec un autre musicien est un début pour moi puisque d’habitude je travaille toute seule. Je garde un super bon souvenir de cette belle apres-midi dans son studio sur la cote sud et d’enregistrer avec lui. Le resultat a un petit coté cool-espagnol que j’aime beaucoup. J’ai été aussi assistée par Burt Latino le DJ qui m’a ‘preté ses oreilles’ pendant que je composais l’arrangement de Hope. L’arrangement, c’est l’art de juxtaposer des phrases musicales qui vont bien ensemble, et c’est aussi l’art du déroulement de la musique sur le temps. C’est arranger l’entrée en scene des instruments (et leur sortie aussi! 🙂

 

Je viens tout juste d’apprendre que ‘Hope’ passera toute la semaine sur le show de Chris Coco (DJ a la BBC) sur Mixcloud!

Et j’espere qu’il y en aura d’autres!

Bisous xx Laura

 

 

About The Fantastic Laura B

Born in France, but now resident in Shoreditch, East London, Laura’s full working moniker is ‘The fantastic Laura B’. Her varied career has included success as an engineer, producer and DJ and well as her achievements in the field of electronica. Laura has performed in Paris, London, Japan, India and the USA. She has worked with a diverse range of artists including Roger Waters from Pink Floyd, Pet Shop Boys, Finley Quaye and the Spice Girls. Laura started making her own music in 2000 and her work has been described as ‘post-chilled’; with its strikingly atmospheric soundscapes and textured breakbeats. Her distinctive brand of elegant, organic electronica may be supremely chilled, but it is always uplifting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Hope’ is out now!!! ‘Hope’ est sorti!!!

Leave a Reply

